AWS Foundation Welding Scholarship
AWS Foundation Scholarships

Applications for 2023-24 Scholarships are now open.

Apply online at

The deadline for National, District, and Section Scholarships is March 1st.


More than 130 donor-funded scholarships, totaling over $600,000, are available for students pursuing a bachelor’s or associate degree in welding or a related discipline. Scholarships range from $2,500-$7,000+. Applicants are required to submit two references and official transcripts.

Eligibility Overview
These are some general requirements to keep in mind when applying for National Scholarships:

  • Two letters of recommendation are required.
  • Applicant must have an official transcript sent by email or mail directly from the school or third-party transcript provider.
  • Some National Scholarships require demonstrated financial need, which means the cost of attendance exceeds the Expected Family Contribution (EFC) as found on the FAFSA Student Aid Report (SAR).  The SAR must be submitted in addition to the cost of attendance documentation to be eligible for these scholarships.
  • Some scholarships require or have a preference for applicants to be a member of AWS. To apply for an AWS student membership, please visit the Student Membership page.
  • Students who are currently enrolled in vocational schools, technical colleges, community colleges, or universities should apply if they meet the needed criteria.

Eligibility Requirements
Each individual scholarship has its own criteria. Please refer to scholarship descriptions in the National Scholarships Table for more information.

Submission Deadline
The deadline to apply for all National Scholarships is March 1st for the following fall term.

Application Process
To fill out an application for a National Scholarship, please use the Scholarship Application System.

The recipient will be chosen by the AWS Foundation Education Scholarship Committee.

Each of the national scholarships are worth a minimum of $2,500 annually. No awards will be paid to the recipient. All awards are for tuition and books only and will be paid directly to the academic institution by the AWS Foundation.